Fame Gurukul


    Fame Gurukul is one of the most popular prime-time shows on Indian television. The Sony Entertainment Television(India) program is produced by the same team that produced Indian Idol. The premise of the show is to select a pair of India's best singers/performers.

    It is based on the Spanish/French
    Operación Triunfo/Star Academy format of Endemol, better known in English under the UK title Fame Academy; in Indian terms, it is essentially a mixture of Indian Idol and Big Brother (TV series). The show started out with 16 contestants living in a musical performance academy (Gurukul). Every week (normally) one contestant is voted out of the show, and so on until two will remain in the end, who will receive various prizes (recording contracts, cars, etc.).


    Results : Qazi Touqeer & Ruprekha Banerjee Winners

    On 20 October 2005, the final show of Fame Gurukul was broadcast in which the final three contestants - Qazi Touqeer, Rex D'Souza and Ruprekha Banerjee battled it for the top spots. After much waiting and various shows in between, the results were finally announced. Qazi Touqeer, the favourite was one of the winners, while Ruprekha Banerjee made up the pair with him.

    Fame Gurukul Fame Jodi will receive a Rs. 1 crore music contract from Sony along with a Maruti Alto each.


    The show is divided into many rounds for each week:
    Gala - All the contestants perform on Stage, and up to four contestants are put into the "Danger Zone" by the Jury, and one is saved by the Faculty.

    Lamhe - A retrospective of the previous week, with highlights and some more details Academy Main 24 Ghantai - "Reality" portion of the show, covers various goings-on in the Gurukul Academy Ran bhumi - The contestants remaining in the danger zone perform once more for the audience, however, the voting begins from the gala itself, so some of the audience results would not have reflected the ranbhumi performances.

    Aap Ka Faisla - The National audience votes to save one of the contestants, and then the safe and saved contestants save one of the two contestants remaining in the Danger Zone. The other contestant then leaves the show. If there is a tie, then the Top Student for the week can reinforce his or her vote or change to the other contestant.

    Ruprekha Banerjee - Winner
    Qazi Touqeer
    - Winner
    Rex D'Souza
    Arpita Mukherjee
    Sandeep Batra
    Arijit Singh
    Monica Gadgil
    Shamit Tyagi
    Gurpreet Kaur
    Deepshikha Sharma
    Mona Bhatt
    Amit Jadhav
    Kirti Sagatia
    Anubhav Suman
    Deepak Singh Meher
    Chhavi Sodhani


    Head Mistress : Ila Arun
    Music : Padma Wadkar, Praŝant A Samadhar
    Dance : Bosco, Caesar
    Fitness : Deepika Mehta


    Jury Members
    Javed Akhtar - Lyricist / Screenplay witer / Poet
    Kay Kay - Singer
    Shankar Mahadevan - Singer / Composer

    Celebrity Judges
    Occasionally a
    celebrity judge is called on the show to comment on the performances and to inspire the singers.Following is a list of special judges who appeared on Fame Gurukul :-
    Karan Johar
    Bipasha Basu and John Abraham
    Diya Mirza
    Anil Kapoor
    Alka Yagnik
    Shreya Ghoshal
    Alisha Chinoy
    Aftab Shivdasani
    Bhumika Chawla

    Mandira Bedi
    Manav Gohil

    TV Production
    Anupama Mandloi - Executive Producer, Sony Entertainment Television India
    Paul Coueslant - Consultant Executive Producer, Endemol International
    Nikhil Alva - Series Producer, Miditech